Iowa Plumbing & Mechanical Systems Board
Continuing Education Guidelines for Licensees
Iowa Department of Public Health
Plumbing and Mechanical Systems Board
Lucas State Office Building
321 E. 12th Street
Des Moines, IA 50319
Note - -this page of information has no official status; for definitive and official up-to-date directives you must contact the agency (Iowa Plumbing & Mechanical Systems Board) issuing the requirements. You may download a PDF copy from the Department of Public Health document.
The continuing education compliance period shall begin on the date the license issued and end on the date the license expires.
A master or journey licensee holding a single trade license is required to complete a minimum of 8 hours of board approved continuing education, during each two year licensure period. The required distribution of hours is as follows:
4 hours in the prescribed practice discipline
2 hours (minimum) applicable Iowa plumbing or mechanical code
2 hours in the content area of the Iowa Occupational Safety and Health Act
A master or journey licensee holding a multiple trade license is required to complete a minimum of 14 or 16 hours of board approved continuing education, during each two year licensure period. The required distribution of hours is as follows:
(Note: If licensee holds a license under both plumbing and mechanical code the required hours will be 4 hours.)
4 hours in the content area of the Iowa Occupational Safety and Health Act
Both single and multiple trade licensees, during each two years license period, may obtain up to two hours of board approved continuing education through computer based continuing education programs/activities, which have been approved by the board.
The board may conduct audits of a licensee's license renewal application to review compliance with continuing education requirements. Upon request, the licensee must submit to the board an individual certificate of completion issued to the licensee or evidence of successful completion of the course from the course sponsor or course instructor. These documents must contain the:
In some instances, licensees will be requested to provide to the board additional information, including, but not limited to:
An inclusive brochure may meet this requirement.
Upon board request, a licensee must submit all information within 30 calendar days following the board's request.